kao (Oblivious, Empathetic, Overly Polite gay)
+
pete (Observant, Angsty, Bullshit-Sensitive bi)aka your reminder that both identified as actually being mlm in kiss the series (!!)
I know there’s a lot of tension after Tumblr’s new policy annouced for December 17th, but reblog this if you aren’t leaving Tumblr so that other blogs can know they aren’t going to be completely alone!
Rich boys have no chill PREVIEW
For @andwebegin because ❤
Tin sat at his table and considered his current problems with Can. Or rather, his problems in wooing Can. The straightforward and blunt boy was surprisingly difficult. Gifts were turned away, Tin was ignored when food was put on the table, and his manners were awful.
And yet… That cheeky little smile had Tin tripping over himself these days. Or perhaps it was the lips that formed that smile…
Regardless, Tin considered getting help. Tactical help. Even if they weren’t close friends, all children of rich and influential families had some awareness of each other. The networking of their family and family friends could not be avoided. There was also a group chat for a few of them, but Tin had that on mute. Tin didn’t like or trust many of them, but they weren’t completely awful to get coffee with on the weekends.
Pete was already useless, sitting two chairs to Tin’s right, giggling at his phone. Thanks to Ae, Pete had been a hopeless conversational partner all night. Even then, Tin normally hated to ask anyone for help. But stuck at a charity gala with some of his other rich peers, the youngest Medthanan figured he might as well chat. Well, he’d use the term parley if he had to speak to the Panitchayasawad heir.
Yo was such One Piece nerd. But at least, in their youth anyway, they had agreed on literature.
So even though the Medthanans and Suthilucks were in vastly different fields (real estate vs plastics), Kongpob was the least annoying. Tin didn’t even want to humor talking to the young Daichapanya.
He’d really rather debate if Naruto would beat Luffy with Yo again than hear Ming talk about Kit Kats all night.
“Kong. It’s been a while.” Tin tilted his head and Kongpob smiled.
“Oh, Ai Tin. How’s LBC University?”
“You’d know if you had decided to go yourself instead of enrolling at GM University for Engineering.” Tin leaned against the wall and Kongpob followed suit next to him. “All for that Engineering student you met.”
“P’Arthit is very kind, Ai Tin. And the program itself is very good. I can always go to LBC for my Masters anyway.” Kongpob shrugged. “But you didn’t come here to talk to me just for fun, did you?”
“Why Ai Kong, I am hurt!” Tin widened his eyes and put a hand to his chest. “It’s been months since the last soiree our parents have forced us to. And you’re clearly my favorite amongst our associates.”
Kongpob smiled again, a cheeky thing which was disappointingly nothing like Can’s cheeky grin. “Ai Pete is your favorite.”
Tin rolled his eyes. “Fine, you’re second.”
“As long as we’re being honest.”
“If we’re being honest, then how is your pursuit of ‘P’Arthit?’”
This time Kongpob frowned. “P’Arthit is… a challenge. He’s very tough on the outside and surprisingly soft on the inside. But I got his attention.”
That got Tin’s attention. “How did you do it?”
Kongpob looked to the side sheepishly. “I told him I’d make him my wife.”
It was the worst time to drop that line as Pete had come with Yo to see what all the fuss was about. Pete did a spit take and Yo made a face.
“Your wife?!” Yo scrunched up his nose which did nothing to detract from how cute he was. “How are you so cheesy?”
Pete wiped at his mouth with a napkin before adding, “I think Ai Kong didn’t mean it that way…”
“What other meaning is there, Ai Pete? Ai Kong is going for it!” Ming said as he threw his arms around Wayo and Pete. It was slightly comical as Wayo was the shortest amongst them, even if he wasn’t that short. “Ai Kong, did it work?!”
Tin pinched the bridge of his nose. His small hope of having a quiet conversation was suddenly dashed. “Mingkwan, keep your voice down.”
Ming pouted. “Na Ai Tin, you always sound like you’re scolding me.”
“I am scolding you.”
representation?
this is strictly about wlw couples. i don’t want to alienate mlm couples but im going to simply because this is what my beef is at the moment.
one of my biggest issues with queer women who cry representation are the ones who don’t support representation when we get it because it’s not the representation that fits their narrative.
so many times we have these wlw couples who are completely ignored for reasons that are sad to admit. it’s so frustrating because there are beautiful stories being told or developing and before we can even get to the meat of a “ship” the shows are cancelled, the characters are killed off, put on the back burner or the same recycled played out story is told even worse than the last.
when that happens those same people crying for representation want to cry trope or they deserved better etc etc. why only then? why show “support” or act like you cared when in reality you contributed to literally shunning a couple but now that it’s another queer couple that is no more now you’re upset?
then we have the ones who ship straight women together whilst there is a wlw couple on the show.
supercorp is the perfect example. sanvers was the typical trope storyline but it was like well this is probably as good as it’s gonna get when it’s a cw show. still people trashed sanvers for everything but cried about supercorp “not happening” or writers are baiting lesbians. no.. they’re not. it isn’t the writers fault that the audience feels supercorp should happen. at the end of the day it was never put out there that kara and lena would happen.
the saddest part about this is queer women were more upset about two straight women who are written as friends not being a couple than the actual wlw couple who literally got treated poorly.
sanvers was representation as terrible as they were written SOME of our stories were still in there somewhat. the actors playing those roles cared more about our community than a lot of queer women did. so is it representation that you really want or only when it’s convenient? because representation definitely is not forcing showrunners to put two straight women together for no reason other than to shut people up.
as a lesbian that isn’t the type of story that i would want as a way for people to understand our struggles. do straight women fall in love with each other? probably. so to each their own if that’s the kind of representation you’re looking for but it’s just sad when there are actual wlw couples on shows and queer women choose to be unsupportive for the pettiest reasons.
onto the color aspect. for years and even now i hate ever using color race or anything outside of facts to form an argument. but it’s so hard to not stoop to that level because it’s so obvious. interracial wlw couples are constantly ignored and i mean i don’t even think it’s intentional or think that queer women realize they do it but then on the other hand it is and they do.
too many times we have women of color who don’t care for wlw couples if the woman of color isn’t with a woman of color and too many times caucasian women who do the same. why is that? i personally just don’t understand it. i have heard people that i am ashamed to have been friends with now actually recently a “friend” of mine said she can’t support thundergrace because anissa isn’t with a black woman.
i literally asked her what that has to do with anything and her answer… representation. i laughed and said this is why it’s okay for showrunners to not give a shit about representation. this is why it’s okay for showrunners to use the community by baiting gays into watching their shows because it’s not about representation. it’s about literally that glimmer of hope that your fave might end up with someone that you feel represents you when it’s so much bigger than you. and she called me a sell out 🤣 why? cause apparently im “shaming black women”. needless to say we are no longer friends because she didn’t want to associate with a sellout.
i understand wanting to see yourself representated through a character or couple etc. but it can be done without people of the same color and background being together. at the end of the day it has been done. couples of all sorts. but the issue here is blatant disregard of a couple for reasons like well whites should be with whitesand blacks should be with blacks or another woman of color.
if you do that it alienates other members of the community who are in an interracial relationship or maybe a lesbian dating a bisexual or bisexual dating a transsexual, pansexual, asexual the list goes on. when people live inside this box where it’s only about the representation that they care about or want to see they’re no better than the people who don’t give a damn about our stories and the representation we’re fighting for.
it isn’t about you. it’s about the members in our community. it’s about all of our stories. whether you can relate or not because you don’t identify as whatever or find whoever attractive okay that’s fine. but don’t cry representation if you’re only crying because it’s not the representation that you want to see.
at the end of the day if we don’t care enough about each other, our stories and our commmunitiy outside of ourselves then we are contributing to a world that doesn’t care if our stories are told or how they’re told. it is entertainment of course but we still deserve to be portrayed in media just like heterosexuals are.
it starts with us. we can’t expect showrunners or writers to get it right when they don’t live this life. we can’t expect them to care when we’re complaining about straight women or being together because “they have chemistry”. that isn’t the point. the point is if we want representation, we need to show that by supporting wlw couples and pushing for these wlw couples stories to develop the characters to develop outside relationships as well. it’s hard cause most shows just don’t care but at least we’re putting it out there in hopes that someone else may see it and understand why this is so important to us as queer women. there’s so much more i want to say but this is long enough already.
idk i just wish it was simple which it is but obviously not for others.
I don’t know what it is, but of all the characters I’ve written fic for, Zhao Yunlan is one of the more out of control when it comes to him doing his own thing that has nothing to do with me.
Loki was worse, but…Loki! He’s a trickster! And I mostly avoided writing from his POV – for that reason! Now I’m just finishing a fic entirely from Zhao Yunlan’s POV and there is a biggish reveal near the end that was as much a surprise to me as it (hopefully) will be to the readers, because I had no idea what was going on until it happened, despite being in Yunlan’s head for all of it.
Like, Zhao Yunlan isn’t even that complicated a character, his motivations are, in order:
- Shen Wei
- Doing the right thing
- Daddy issues
- Shen Wei
- Lollipops
- Shen Wei
- Also Shen Wei, only with fewer clothes on
And yet.
Just in case this needs to be said:
It’s the first draft. Use the word “suddenly.” Put as many dialogue tags and adverbs as you want. Say “he saw” “she remembered” “she felt” “they wondered” as many times as you need to. Put the em dash there, put in too many commas, use semi-colons with reckless abandon. Type in [whatever] instead of thinking up a title for something. Just write it. If you worry too much about the particulars, about all the advice posts you’ve seen saying whatever you’re doing is wrong or not good enough, you won’t get anything done. It will slow you down as you go back and try to reword what you just wrote to make it better, proper. The first draft doesn’t have to be perfect. It just has to be done. And when you get to the end, you’ll find that all those “mistakes” are just clues for your future self to put together to make it all better.
Putting in adverbs and certain dialogue tags are a note for you as to who is saying something and how they’re saying it. When you’re editing, you can make sure it shows through the story instead. The word “suddenly” is a reminder to make things more abrupt. The first draft is just you mapping out where you want to go and how you want to get there. Don’t waste time trying to get it 100% right now, because then it will never get done. Don’t think too much– just write. Save the thinking for editing later.




























You must be logged in to post a comment.