Creator: Here’s what happened.
Fanfiction writers *silently*: Nope, let me fix it.
Tag: fanfiction
I don’t know what it is, but of all the characters I’ve written fic for, Zhao Yunlan is one of the more out of control when it comes to him doing his own thing that has nothing to do with me.
Loki was worse, but…Loki! He’s a trickster! And I mostly avoided writing from his POV – for that reason! Now I’m just finishing a fic entirely from Zhao Yunlan’s POV and there is a biggish reveal near the end that was as much a surprise to me as it (hopefully) will be to the readers, because I had no idea what was going on until it happened, despite being in Yunlan’s head for all of it.
Like, Zhao Yunlan isn’t even that complicated a character, his motivations are, in order:
- Shen Wei
- Doing the right thing
- Daddy issues
- Shen Wei
- Lollipops
- Shen Wei
- Also Shen Wei, only with fewer clothes on
And yet.
fanfiction is so diverse.
i mean i can read a 15,000 word one shot with perfect spelling and grammar, or a story with 50 chapters and 200,000 words that looks like it’s been through google translate five times
Fic authors deserve more credit.
Story time: I started reading a book about 23 hours ago and just finished it. Also in that time, I slept for 10 hours, spent time with family, was at work, etc. Anyway, I enjoyed the book (Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda,) but it felt like it flew by. So after I finished I looked up the word count because what are pages? Pages are meaningless. I only function in word counts anymore.
The estimate I found was 58,580. My immediate reaction was “oh, that’s why. That’s nothing!” But what a shitty response. Because no. That’s not nothing. That’s a whole. Damn. Book. An entire novel! And fic authors regularly bust out 30k, 50k, 100k, 150k words. AND THEY DO IT FOR FREE. WHILE WORKING AND LIVING THEIR LIVES.
So anyway, thank your favorite fic author today because they deserve it. Because they’re amazing. They’re the MVPs.
So… I’ve realised I’ve completely missed the point of the director’s cut ask, and you still answered so nicely! I feel a bit stupid now 😳 So, to make up for it, here’s a ⭐ so that you can talk about what you’ve been dying to say on any one of your fics!
I’m going to talk about The walls have ears (But they’re not yours).
My original plan was to make it entirely a comedy. Even in my notes on the post, I mentioned the original title: “No room for brooding (Get out of the damn shower).”
You can still see the humor origins in the first few scenes. Tin’s attempts to talk to himself are rather broken just so you laugh at the implications. Can’s reactions are a little too oblivious about what’s going on.
But as I progressed, I found I couldn’t make everyone laugh at Tin. It just wasn’t happening. You can blame the MV or you can blame my soft and emotional heart. All the same, it felt wrong to just laugh at Tin here.
I felt like I wanted something bigger to happen, something bigger between Can and Tin needed to happen. So I reworked it a bit and asked, “What if Can’s inattentiveness, his obliviousness, came back to bite him a bit?”
A lot of times in fanfic before the last few episodes, Can was portrayed as the emotionally aware one. This was an interesting way to test what would happen if he wasn’t.
ALSO in order to spill some more tea, it was only after I wrote this fic and slapped several others into this ‘verse that I realized I made a bit of a continuity error. In “The Worst Kiss”, Can seems to know where Tin’s spare key is hidden because he bursts in on Tin having a minor breakdown over his emotions in the bathroom. Here in “The walls have ears”, Can says that Tin doesn’t believe in leaving spare keys anywhere and doesn’t have one. Sadly, the spare key was lost in the space-time-fic-paradox in between a few fics.
Thank you for answering again after my stupid blunder! 💕
I’ve just left a rambling comment on AO3 so I’ll keep this reply short.
I don’t think there’s an applause gif big enough to properly convey my reaction to this.
Also, I love that if anyone tries to say that you’re just “another hack fic writer with no ideas of her own who is jealous of the “real” writers out there”, they could quite literally be crushed under your catalog of award-winning original writing as a response. They can’t dismiss your stance on this topic the way they do to so many unpublished / fanfic writers because you’ve already met all of the standards that they insist someone has before they’ll accept their opinion as worth listening to.
Right?
“Well, fanfic authors never win awards, so–”
“WOULD YOU LIKE TO HOLD MY HUGO.”
“That’s basically, it’s, you know, the People’s Choice, so–”
“LOOK AT MY NEBULA.”
“That’s a science fiction award, it doesn’t really–”
“LOOK I’VE WON THE ALEX.”
“…”
“IT’S GIVEN BY THE SAME PEOPLE WHO GIVE THE NEWBURY.”
“…”
“I’M THE FIRST PERSON TO WIN IT TWICE IN A ROW.”
“…well you wrote porn.”
“GOSH I SURE DID.”More attention to this, please. 🙂 From yet another of the I Wrote Fanfic First And I Decline To Feel Shame About It brigade.
(And I also wrote for My Little Pony, which means I may have inadvertently contributed something to Seanan’s state of being. [Which I will file under the “Quiet Unholy Glee” heading.])
:)))
Damn I love the internet.
I’m forever haunted by the knowledge that Dracula is a public domain work and I could literally just write Dracula AU (No listen, but hear me out, The Batchelor), and every second I’m not doing it feels like an affront to whatever god thought it would be a good idea to keep me alive.
Here’s a List of Public Domain Classics for those of you who want to get your Classic Lit AU on, and potentially create THE LITERATURE CLASSICS CROSSOVER FIC FROM HELL.
Which I’d read the shit out of.

I’d like everyone to see this
{Credit to amalasrosa on Twitter}
#real #not to be salty but this is what ive been saying#like everyone out here really still acting like fanfic isnt really writing#like its subpar and like it cant be good and have amazing lines#even fanfic writers treat it like its LESS and like theyre PLAY writing and not actually writing#like friend buddy ican ASSURE YOU that fanfic is every bit as real and good as writing from books#the only difference between fic and actual books is that books go through several stages of processing and editing and filtering#and are worked on by professionals who studied the craft of editing#while fanfiction cuts that filtering and everyone gets a chance to be heard and to be read#and instead of editors we have peer editing and reviewing#dont be fucking tricked by the mass notion that anything that young girls and queer people are interested in is immediately bad and subpar#bc it is fucking not #i will FIGHT for it #fanfiction (tags by @crossroadswrite bacause they add so much to this post)
I honestly can’t remember the last time I cried while reading a V Srs published book, but fanfic has made me blubber like a baby on many occasions.
A library story
So when I was a kid, probably 12 or 13, I checked out a compilation of post-apocalyptic science fiction stories from the public library. It looked like every other book on the shelf. It was fic from a dozen different authors, and the blurb on the inside cover was pretty vague.
Of the stories in that book, 2 were R-rated. One had surprise rape. One had surprise inter-generational incest. For the shock value. To make the reader ~think. Dude authors. Do I wish I hadn’t read it? Yah. Kinda. It lives in the back of my head with the other gross detritus of the world, all the horrible upsetting shit I’ve read. I read a Star Trek licensed novel with animal torture in it, to illustrate the horror of sociopathy, and I wish I hadn’t read that too.
During the summers of middle school and high school I read voraciously and while I managed to steer clear of MUCH upsetting content I sure as hell stumbled on some doozies.
If my library had been Ao3 I would have gotten a pop up asking me — hey, kid, there’s gross shit in that book, are you old enough to check it out?
And if I was a dumb kid I still might have said ‘yes’, but I would have had a heads up.
Quick personal statistics!
Surprise incest I’ve read in paperbacks I bought in a store or checked out from the library: I’m going to say…. half a dozen instances? Dozen? Surprise rape, at least double that. What is it about the fantasy genre that brings out the creepy writers, and why do they consider sexual assault ‘gritty realism,’ could they fucking stop.
Surprise incest I’ve read on Ao3: none. It has warnings and I avoid it like the plague.
Surprise rape I’ve read on Ao3: none. It has warnings and I avoid it like the plague.
Ao3 is one of the safest goddamn places on the web to read fiction because it has a standardized, mandatory labeling system. Is there appalling content on it? Oh god yes. Does it do a better job of warning you about that content than any library or bookstore? Oh my god yes by ORDERS OF MAGNITUDE.
I vote funding for my local library every time it’s on the ballot, even though there’s gross shit on the shelves, because I think it’s a resource that’s important to have.
I donate to Ao3 even though there’s content I find fucking appalling archived there, because I think it’s a resource that’s important to have.
Because I know that defunding libraries won’t stop gross dudes from writing gross shit and calling it ‘thought provoking literature’, and I know shutting down Ao3 won’t make creepy fic vanish from the internet. It’ll just take the warning labels off it.
ALL THIS
old favorite fanfics are so comforting












You must be logged in to post a comment.