Love by Chance

kxrn7knxck:

Thai

14 episodes

Tropes-

Multiple couples, rich and poor, first love, students, stepbrothers, straight people (but dw they’re nice), female interference (kinda?)

Trigger warnings-

Sexual assault, past sexual assault, attempted sexual assault, non-consensual kiss, assault, bruising, blood, nightmares, mentions of drug use/ addiction

Bloggers rating-

The main story/ couple of Ae and Pete get a 10/10
The side story/ couple of Tin and Can get a 6/10
The side story/ couple of Tum and Tar get a 1/10
The side story/ couple of Kengkla and Techno get a 0/10


Summary-
Ae and Pete- Pete is a gay IC (international college) student, dealing with a broken heart after he had his trust shattered by Trump, who only wanted to be with him for his money. Ae crashes into Pete’s life and takes it upon himself to help Pete put the pieces together.

Tin and Can- Tin is an IC student with a resentment for the poor, certain all they want to do is steal his money. Can is a Thai program student with a resentment for the rich, thinking they’re stuck up and a little too full of themselves. They never planned for any of this to happen.

Tum and Tar- Tar is dealing with a traumatic past and has just come back to his home in Thailand after having spent some time in France. Tum is his older brother, a musician, and also, the only person Tar feels he can trust.

Kengkla and Techno- Techno is a nieve soccer coach, with a soft spot for the juniors he’s been given responsibility for. Over time, his brother, Technique, starts becoming increasingly interested in his brother’s life. Little does Techno know, his brother is being given direction by a junior called Techno, who is set on starting a relationship with him, no matter what.


Bloggers Opinion-
I’m going to break this into four sections because each of these couples have some very different stories and it would be hard to properly cover them in the space that I normally allow myself in these reviews.

Ae and Pete- These two are some of the best characters I have ever had the pleasure of watching in a series. There was never a point where they made me doubt them, despite some arguments, they never did anything incredibly stupid while angry at each other, like some other couples do. The main conflict in their story was regarding them getting together, and then coping with some internalized homophobia and the effects that Trump had on Pete and his life. Once those points were felt with, we got to spend some time with them just being a normal happy couple and they just?? Were so good?? Ae is very protective, and Pete just wants to be loved and its so sweet. They’re such a breath of fresh air and there’s really nothing I would change about their story, as shown in the series. In the novel Love by Chance is based on, their story faces a massive hurdle when Pete’s dad finds out about their relationship, and Trump comes back into the picture, but thankfully that wasn’t explored in this series. There won’t be a series 2, so I’m glad we did get the start of some drama we would never wrap up.

I also need to give a quick mention to Saint (the actor for Pete) and Perth (the actor for Ae) because they both did fantastic jobs, despite being young (Perth is only 17). They also have really nice chemistry off screen, which only helps.

Tin and Can- Honestly for a couple that started out punching each other in the face, they got further than I thought they would. While I do understand the appeal of the enemies to lovers trope, their story just felt a bit rushed, and I know I’m not the only one that feels like that. I guess they just needed to be jumpstarted somehow. There were some moments from them once they started “dating” that I thought were cute, and overall they had a lot of potential to be better than they were. One aspect of their dynamic that I liked, in particular, was how they helped prove each other wrong, as far as their prejudices go. It was also nice to watch Tin begin to soften up a little, and to watch Can fall slowly. Too bad they had to fuck up right at the end.

Tum and Tar- Ok so, they had potential. If it weren’t for Tar’s past, and the fact that they’re stepbrothers, and also the fact that Tum HIGHKEY fucked up, and the fact that Tar forgave him, they might have turned out ok. So basically, if you just change every single aspect of their story, they could have been ok. Individually, those tropes wouldn’t have resulted in them having such a low rating, but with all things considered, there really wasn’t a whole lot of good from them. They didn’t get a lot of screen time, so they didn’t get very far. The only thing that I liked at all about them was that at one point, I thought that Tar would tell Tum and then they would try to get through it together and Tar wouldn’t have to be in that situation ever again. Tum absolutely destroyed that though, and regardless of the fact that he didn’t know what had happened in the past, he still royally fucked up and ruined anything that could have been good about them. The only reason they didn’t get a 0 is because Earth (the actor for Tar) has a boyfriend in real life and it’s really important to give gay people gay roles, so I had to give credit where credit is due. The actual couple is a 0 though.

Kengkla and Techno- Ok, I’m going to try to keep this short because I am completely disgusted by them and I think I would enter a blind rage if I talk about them too much. Kengkla rapes Techno while Techno is drunk and it’s not only shown on screen but also talked about by Kengkla in a disgusting about of detail, while he tries to make it sound sexy. Kengkla convinces Techno that he has to take responsibility for what happened and date him because Techno is older, so it’s his fault. Their story ends with Techno being scared and confused and Kengkla being proud of himself for what happened. There is not a single good thing about their story or about this couple. I absolutely hate every single thing about them and am completely disgusted at the notion that anyone could watch their story and find even a single positive thing about any of their interactions. Hell, the first time we saw them together was because Kengkla destroyed Techno’s property and then made himself out to be a hero. There is not a single good thing about them, they have no potential and are completely and utterly disgusting to me.

Final thoughts-
The only real reason I can see to watch this series is for Ae and Pete. Tin and Can, maybe, but you probably wouldn’t be happy with their stories ending. The author uses rape/ sexual assault in almost every storyline because its easy drama and we’re just lucky the series wasn’t longer so that they couldn’t put more charters in that position. Watch the AePete cuts of this series and avoid TumTar and KengNo with a 10,000-meter long stick.

Ending status below the cut-

Afficher davantage

Long Time No See

kxrn7knxck:

5 episodes

Korean

Tropes-

Assassins, adults, workplace

Trigger warnings-

Fighting, assault, blood, bullying due to homophobia (severe, really gross stuff), minor/ side character death


Summary-

Flying Dagger is a renowned assassin, working for Black Rose. Wild Dog is a fan of the stories Flying dagger writes and sets up a time to meet. They fall for each other, hard and fast, but will their secrets get in the way?


Bloggers opinion-

I was really not expecting that many kisses from a Korean series but I’m not complaining. The real MVP in this series is the sister, who I don’t think has a name, but god damn she was lovely. I really like how Wild Dog’s family aspect of this being positive, even though the rest of it was quite dark. It does a good job of letting you make conclusions, and I enjoyed the side characters.

There is some severe bullying that was necessary to put the whole story into motion but god, I wish I hadn’t seen some of that. Its not a bad series by any means, I just would have liked a warning. I think the side characters do a good job of trying to twist things to their advantage and I enjoyed the overall vibe. There wasn’t a lot of filler, it got to the point quite quickly.

Overall rating-

This is probably one of my favourite short series that I’ve watched because while the characters aren’t good people, they’re well written and developed. The only real problems for me is one of the fight scenes lacking continuity and how quickly they fell for each other but other than that, it was highly enjoyable for me, minus the recruitment scene for Flying Dagger because oh my god. Ew. That being said it was quite brief and easily skippable. it appears in a memory as well, but still skippable.

I really did enjoy this and give it about an 8.9/ 10

Ending status below the cut-

Keep reading