Good Night – LazyGeisha – 镇魂 | Guardian (TV) [Archive of Our Own]

lazygeisha:

Chapters: 7/?

Fandom: 镇魂 | Guardian (TV)
Rating: Not Rated
Warnings: Creator Chose Not To Use Archive Warnings
Relationships: Chu Shu Zhi/Guo Chang Cheng
Characters: Chu ShuZhi/Chu Shu Zhi, Guo ChangCheng/Guo Chang Cheng
Additional Tags: Romance, Coffee, Cats, Flowers, Alternate Universe – Canon Divergence, melodrama- hahaha!, Other Additional Tags to Be Added, as story develops, poetry quotes
Summary:

There was a ridiculous assumption that he was quiet and gentle because he worked with delicate flowers. In fact, Chu Shu Zhi may be one of the least stereotypical florists in the whole profession.

Apologies for the delay in updating, real life got in the way. I hope this chapter doesn’t suffer for the wait, apologies again

if it’s not up to the same level as the previous couple of chapters. There is at least one more to come, possibly two, I will try and get them done – and not badly, I hope – when I can. It’s a busy time right now until the end of the year. Thanks for bearing with me and for reading. 🙂

Good Night – LazyGeisha – 镇魂 | Guardian (TV) [Archive of Our Own]

lazygeisha:

counsellorsuggestion:

lazygeisha:

counsellorsuggestion:

learning how not to fish for compliments can really help how you interact with others. here’s some common phrases i’ve noticed:

  • “here’s my shitty art”
  • “lol i’m so ugly in this selfie”
  • “you’re so creative. i’m nowhere near as creative as you”
  • “your writing is amazing! i wish mine was that good”

what all of these have in common is that they all involve putting yourself down. when you do that, those around you feel obligated to compliment you, which can make them feel frustrated that they have to just to be polite. not only that, but by talking yourself down you feel worse about yourself. the latter two phrases also centre your problems, distracting the attention from the person you’re trying to compliment. that often makes them feel bad!

here’s how to fix those phrases:

  • “here’s my art”
  • “selfie time!”
  • “you’re so creative. how do you do it?”
  • “your writing is amazing! do you have any tips?”

by cutting out the negativity, you make it so nobody feels obligated to compliment you. you’ll usually get more compliments this way because people don’t feel uncomfortable! the latter two phrases now also centre the artist and their knowledge. not only do they make the artist feel good, they also might score you some good advice.

this strategy will also help to boost your confidence in the long run. if you stop prefacing every compliment with negativity, you’ll be able to internalise them better.

I reread this several times, each time I became more and more upset. This post is slanted to wards the idea that everyone starts with the same level of self esteem and/or confidence, and that is in no way true. Those of us with little to no self esteem or confidence in our own work use that self deprecating language because that genuinely how we feel. We don’t feel as talented or as skilled at the our “peers”, something in our lives has broken us to the point where we can’t value ourselves or anything we produce. It’s not “fishing for compliments”, it’s “look, I made this, I feel no where near as good at this as others because I can’t value myself”. When I preface my offerings with “I’m pretty sure this is garbage” is NOT to have everyone fall all over themselves with “Oh no, it’s the best thing since..” if I was, I’d be stupid. Most things don’t get comments at all. It’s a declaration of “Look, I have no confidence in what I’ve done, but I still managed to find the courage to do it, to offer it to you, to bare myself to you despite feeling like a monkey could have done better.” I don’t demand people try and convince me whatever I’ve done is good. I’m not asking for compliments, what I’m asking for is just for you to realise that this is something I have to deal with, have managed to fight through, to offer you whatever it is. Don’t belittle us for something that we often can’t control, understand it’s the way we are and accept it.

yeah, i definitely wish i’d clarified in the original post. i was thinking about a person i know who really is fishing for compliments and it totally didn’t occur to me that this is a product of low self esteem too.

the thing is that your reasons for doing it don’t actually change the effect. whether you’re fishing or just feel bad, putting yourself down still makes others feel bad as well as reducing your own self confidence even further. insulting yourself is extremely, extremely destructive, and i think it’s flat-out dangerous to accept it and think of it as something you can’t stop doing. i’m still struggling with it too! it’s hard as hell. but it’s not an unbeatable monster, and i absolutely object to the idea of treating it like one.

my point still applies: be neutral instead of negative. you don’t have to talk yourself up, but definitely don’t talk yourself down.

I understand where you’re coming from, and yes, I agree it’s completely unhealthy for us to spiral in our self-negativity and push it on other people. Here’s the thing, though, we can’t stop it just because it makes other people uncomfortable. Believe me, if it were that easy to stop, no one would do it. No one is forcing anyone to read or view or comment on anything prefaced with “I know it sucks..”. I don’t ever feel that I owe someone a comment or a compliment unless I genuinely feel it or I think it warrants it, and I wouldn’t expect anyone else to do it. Is it unbeatable monster? No. But I doubt that if years of therapy can’t  prevent it, just saying “Well, just don’t do it” helps. It’s a mental illness like any other, telling someone with depression to stop being depressed because it makes others uncomfortable or we should just “cheer up” doesn’t work. I have empathy for anyone who feels their work is not good, so I will go out of my way to read it and if it IS good, tell them so. NO ONE is obligated to do the same. Don’t like to feel the negativity, don’t interact with it. It’s simple.

AO3 Fic Masterlist

lazygeisha:

lazygeisha:

I just published my 20th fiction over at AO3, to mark that occasion I’m creating a masterlist of all the fiction – not including a WeiLan ficlet I posted here and can’t find

– no loss. There is also an AO3 link on my blog to my dashboard, in case anyone ever wants to read anything I’ve written and can’t find this post. No, I can’t read that with a straight face either.

(the song titles in quotes are either the songs the fic titles are taken from and/or inspired by/prompted)

镇魂 | Guardian (TV):

WeiLan:

ChuXGuo:

Zhu Hong:

บังเอิญรัก | Love by Chance (TV)

獅子王強大 | Lion Pride (TV)

I added the latest story, also added the songs most of my ChuxGuo fic titles were names after/inspired by, or – in the case of “Moments in a Relationship” – where chapter prompts. I know you were all dying to know that.

lazygeisha:

fkyb:

lazygeisha:

fkyb:

weilongfu:

lazygeisha:

plann-et:

lazygeisha:

fkyb:

lazygeisha:

lazygeisha:

lazygeisha:

fkyb:

lazygeisha:

fkyb:

weilongfu:

fkyb:

nacnit:

fkyb:

Coming soon(ish) in sock puppet form! @weilongfu 👌👌

I leave for 3 minutes and @fkyb and @weilongfu are making a sock puppet version of LBC and I’m dying

@nacnit hey its @lazygeisha idea in the first place 😂😂

Everyone remember, it was @lazygeisha that said sock puppets first.

I’m young and impressionable and can’t be expected to make responsible decisions.

I’m even younger so this applies to me as well, only times 1000

@weilongfu @fkyb Pond talking to Ae:

OMG YES

@weilongfu & @fkyb AePete or Tin/Can

image

no, wait THIS is TinCan

@weilongfu & @fkyb No, this is THE TinCan:

Akzhsvzjdijsb this is perfect 👌👌👌

@plann-et Oh, no, my god, no! Don’t fall so far down, people!

oh hush!! your level is like … astronomical. 

we are mere peasants to your royalty. 

@plann-et it’s decades of hard living and a many lapses of judgement.
Seriously, though, I’m just feeding off some great people. 😉 And I spent no time making the gifs, just finding them. That they exist at all is scary.

And now you want me to be the one to make the video people gif? RUDE

I’m just thinking ahead, please keep up

@fkyb Wait- wait- did you think *I* made those gifs?!?!??!?!!?

@lazygeisha i…..mostly didn’t think at all, i was too floored by how they fit perfectly

@fkyb Me too, TBH.