Oh Anon! You’re not stupid! It’s just a weird way of phrasing that Tin gets very vigorous when having sex with Can. So much so that some how the condom moves.
Although really, anyone who’s actually used a condom would tell you it’s harder than you think to make a condom move around during sex. The point is for a condom to stay on to prevent any semen from getting anywhere you don’t want it to.
I choose to imagine this as Tin is literally being a jackhammer and Can is the power bottom we all knew he could be. There is literally no other way that condom should be going anywhere.
EDIT: Okay, there ARE actual ways the condom would be moving around that much, but I trust Tin and Can to actually use condoms that fit for a start.
Does anyone know if Can’s mom is ever named in the novel? Asking so I can use it for a fic. Otherwise I might just lowkey use the name of the actress that played her.
FUCK IT
After talking with @thewickling, I’ve decided Can’s mom’s name is Apple. Her parents are Tangerine and Lychee.
Deal with it.
Totally on board with the names and also: is Can‘s dad alive? And what does he do?
I have the feeling we already talked about it but I just can’t find the damn posts
I actually have no recollection of that conversation. Which if we did have it, should scare me. I also don’t know if he’s alive and what he does, TBH.
IMO, if Can’s dad is around, his name, is sadly not a fruit. A great disappointment to Tangerine and Lychee, but they learn to live with it. They decide to playfully call him Pom. It’s short for pomegranate.
have y’all ever thought how fucking grand and iconic it would be , if guardian was actually gay ? like , the show itself , you know .
there are so many aspects to it that would be no joke groundbreaking . and i’m not even talking about a chinese show being gay . like , have you ever thought about how much weilan’s story defies homophobic stereotypes ?
for starters , guardian is a sci-fi show with two queer main characters , which – correct me if i’m wrong – has never happened anywhere before . it also has a plot that fully depends on the love story of said two characters , though at the same time that plot is not entirely just about the two characters being gay without any further explanation . it’s not stereotypical either . it’s an actually beautifully thought-out love story .
another thing that a lot of homophobes love to push is that gay people can’t be in love / one person can’t be in love with another person of their gender . and i mean , what defies that better than a story about a man being in love with another man for ten thousand years , waiting for him and being faithful to him that entire time , despite not being able to see him ?
guardian is not just a bl , it’s not just a show that has absolutely zero plot and whose only saving grace is the fact that it is gay ( not that there is anything wrong with that tbh jfksjfksjfksjs ) . but , it is really a full blown sci-fi show with lots of different amazing characters , each of whom has their own plot .
it also doesn’t fall under the usual shitty plotline of either of the guys being confused about their feelings ? shen wei definitely isn’t , but neither is yun lan . he is absolutely sure in his love for shen wei , and when a girl chases after him and tells him she loves him – he rejects her without a shadow of a doubt . no way in hell would he want any woman , or anyone else really , when he has shen .
and why does no one talk about guardian punching toxic masculinity in the face ? shen wei is a man devoted to the love of his life for ten thousand entire years . yun lan is a man fully devoted both to a man he loves and also his team , which he also loves and cares for deeply ( and he shows it too , in many ways ) . guo changcheng is a fragile gentle boy , who doesn’t end up ‘ winning ‘ by becoming hyperly-masculine, but instead by embracing himself . and there is many more examples .
i can go on and on about this . guardian could do shit™️ if it was allowed to be what it was supposed to be from the very beginning . and i’m just so sad that it wasn’t .
Rewatching Guardian, we caught this bit in episode 5. At night Shen Wei is out on the university campus communing with the foliage (introducing himself to the flower yashou chieftain). It’s presumably quite late, as he materializes his weapon to prove his identity without worrying about being seen. While out, he sees Zhao Yunlan ride past on his bike:
Then Zhao Yunlan is at Professor Shen’s office door, and is about to give up when Shen Wei answers
And they proceed to grin at each other happily and go into his office to talk.
Two things about this:
One, Shen Wei clearly teleported across campus into his office, so he wouldn’t miss the chance to spend time with Zhao Yunlan.
Two, it being so late, why would Zhao Yunlan know Shen Wei was still in his office? Either he knows his office hours (1-3 a.m. on alternate Tuesdays?) or more likely he was loitering outside their apartment building, waiting for Shen Wei to get home to casually bump into him and chat, but eventually got impatient and just went and sought him out.
In conclusion: these absolute goobers, they both have it so bad.
Okay, but there was literally no way Yunlan and Shen Wei could have not fallen in love. They both ensured it. (Obv, I’m talking about the show here and not the book).
It’s not fate, that’s not what I mean. It’s the timeline. In the book it was reincarnation, but even then you could say Yunlan’s slutty personality is what ensured that he fell in love with Shen Wei, and Shen Wei ensured they’d meet at all by semi-stalking him for years. You’re bound to run into each other in that way.
But in the show, what triggered Shen Wei’s devotion to Kun Lun? Yunlan did. Because the moment he sees Shen Wei 10K years in the past, he decides to spend every moment they’re together aggressively flirting with him. He already knows what will get a reaction from the time he and Shen Wei have spent together in the present, so he’s not at a disadvantage here. He doesn’t need to learn Shen Wei’s temperament—he notices as soon as they meet that Shen Wei is practically the same person. So he teases, he gets a reaction, and he keeps teasing, keeps pushing that boundary, and Shen Wei is taken completely by surprise.
Yunlan is thinking: “my future husband is adorable.”
Shen Wei doesn’t stand a chance.
(Now I think we’re all pretty much in agreement over the fact that Yunlan should have spent at least a month or so with Shen Wei for Shen Wei to develop that amount of devotion; one night is a little… Well, he’d certainly be sad, but devoted? Nah. Not with Shen Wei’s personality.)
But Yunlan? What does he like? Attention. And boy does Shen Wei give his his fill from the moment they meet at the university. Shen Wei’s intensity is something anyone would be creeped out by, but our boy Yunlan can’t help but wonder where it comes from. It’s the cop in him; he needs to know the source of the behavior. And because of his suspicions, he spends more time with Shen Wei, so he gets more of that attention—and the fact that Shen Wei grows into basically his caretaker just eggs that on—so he enjoys their time together even more, so he starts to like Shen Wei’s personality past the intensity, they develop a chemistry, they fall in love, they get married.
Yunlan falls in love with Shen Wei over time like a normal romance, but he does so because Shen Wei is already in love with him. If Shen Wei hadn’t been, he wouldn’t have given Yunlan any more attention than he would give anyone else. They would have been acquaintances at most. Shen Wei hadn’t even bothered to show up as his Envoy self since Yunlan became the Guardian.
So in this way, Yunlan doesn’t stand a chance. He likes the attention too much.
And so when he gets dropped back 10K years in the past and he meets Shen Wei’s non-devoted self, his first instinct is to tease the fuck out of him and throw him off his equilibrium, which serves to awaken that devotion. But even at the time, his main concern is getting back to his Shen Wei, the one he practically lives with.
Shen Wei falls head over heels, and the cycle continues.
There was no chance of them not falling for one another because one of them was already in love the moment the other met them.
Okay some more thoughts on how to fix the time travel plot for Guardian!
1) We know that no matter how much time has passed, it isn’t an indication of how fast time is moving in the time they came from, so they could have taken a month or two to get back, it would’ve been fine. For the purposes of fucking Shen Wei up so hard he pines for 10K years (even if most of it is in nap form), let’s give them 6 months. So that’s six months to build a relationship
2) I have no clue how the show would have done it platonically, but Shen Wei and Yunlan would have to build a romance. That’s literally the only type of relationship that would justify that acting from Zhou Yilong, and he fucking knows it. We can even keep that Yunlan and Shen Wei weren’t even a couple yet when Yunlan entered the time portal, they were just going around calling each other “good friends” and practically living together, cuz let’s say Yunlan is an idiot or in denial or what have you. But either way, Yunlan is unaware they were lovers in the past
2a) This works great cuz it’s Yunlan, and to him Shen Wei has always been intensely interested in him, so he doesn’t really notice that his flirting is making Shen Wei fall head over heels for this stranger who knows all the right things to say to knock him off his equilibrium
2b) Because of that, he’s surprised when Shen Wei blushingly confesses to him, or says something like “I know what you want from me, and I want it too, but humans and mutants can never be together. I must turn you down” and Yunlan just has this moment of “huh, I guess to anyone that isn’t a pining, celibate immortal with too many emotional walls up, I look in love”, which triggers the next moment of “oh shit he’s in love with me”, which spawns “oh shit I’m in love with him”
2c) Yunlan struggles for a bit, not wanting to “take advantage” of his younger (I’m assuming in his early 20s; Shen Wei needed the time to get through undergrad, graduate, and post doc, as well as develop that slick sense of style after waking up practically the same age 10K years later) “good friend”, but fuck is he cute. Reminds him of when he met Shen Wei at the university, but with less heartbreak weighing him down, and maybe he slips up and lets his hand linger over Shen Wei’s when they both reach for the same thing, or gazes at him a little too softly while they’re discussing battle tactics with 5 other generals, and gods, he misses Shen Wei so much, his Shen Wei, the one who has already waited, and Yunlan wants nothing more than to return to him and end the wait
2d) when the time comes, before they open the portal, Yunlan sees the devastation on Shen Wei’s face. He had no clue Yunlan would be leaving after this. Yunlan can’t help himself, knows he’s dooming this man to 10K years of yearning, but he can’t stand that look, and he kisses him. Shen Wei kisses back and it’s sloppy and inexperienced and errs on the side of desperate, but Yunlan pours all the “sorrys” he possibly can into it, sorry for doing this to you, sorry for wanting the later you, sorry for never realizing, sorry for what’s to come
3) give Yunlan a “tragic” ending for younger!Shen Wei to witness. the terrible emotions behind that “this is the life I’m returning to you” delivery by Yilong just falls flat if it’s for his comrades and people he’s heard Kun Lun has saved. It speaks of a tragedy Shen Wei has been living with the trauma of for centuries (er, decades, if we go with that nap they said he took). Yunlan would have been sucked into a portal, sure, but what they gave us wasn’t traumatizing enough for Shen Wei to be so protective of him that he doesn’t want him leaving the city or facing mutants without him there to back him up. That protectiveness isn’t just cute; it’s obsessive. It has to come from that trauma, a trauma regarding some tragic fate that had to do with Yunlan being helpless to defend himself in some situation
4) Shen Wei can’t be “waiting”. It would be so much better if he had no idea Yunlan was going to show up later. Maybe he’s hoping for a reincarnation, or he’s hoping that once he dies, he can join Yunlan in the afterlife, but Shen Wei is just doing his job, enjoying the surface now that he’s awake because the light reminds him of his time with Kun Lun, and then he sees Yunlan at the university and time. Stops. His heart nearly follows suit. He doesn’t know what he’s feeling or if he’s even feeling anything, just that the love of his life is for some reason living and breathing right before his eyes. And he doesn’t seem to recognize him at all. But that chemistry still remains
5) This would have a subplot of Shen Wei trying to figure out what exactly happened and whether it was reincarnation or something else, maybe suddenly remember that Kun Lun had been wearing some strange clothing the first time they met, he’d just forgotten in his grief over the years. Tiny details don’t stick around for long
6) Also, in those first few episodes, Yunlan follows Shen Wei around because of suspicion, but Shen Wei also reveals he knows a lot about Dixing to Yunlan in the first episode, which would make more sense if Shen Wei needs to get close to Yunlan in order to understand what he was doing 10K years in the past, so that’s why he’s investigating him and also investigating what the fuck happened 10K years ago
7) Also also, the moment they got back to the present from the time dimension they were in, Yunlan would kiss Shen Wei immediately, right in front of Da Qing, and this time it would be experienced and right and make all the sense in the world, and it would take Shen Wei everything to not crumble under the weight of his elation
7a) “I’m so sorry,” Yunlan would say against his mouth, moving him back into the edge of a gurney, “so so sorry I put you through this, made you wait so long,” and Shen Wei would respond with tears in his eyes that he’d do it a thousand times over if it meant sharing this just one more time
7b) “guys” Da Qing says weakly from the background
I got involved in fandom in the mid-90s when I was around 14 years old. My cousin @lyndanaclerio sent me VHS recordings of the Sailor Moon dub, and I fell in love… I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before.
Since then, I’ve been in a lot of different fandoms: from manga to YA, Tolkien to Xena, Harry Potter to Teen Wolf, Star Wars to Marvel, and countless mini-fandoms along the way. And I’ve met a lot of cool people online over the years — older and younger alike, including my best friend of 15 years — on all sorts of platforms. I’ve built myself fandom homes on shitty GeoCities fansites and moderately less shitty sites I made from scratch; on Yahoo! Groups and LiveJournal; on AO3 and Tumblr… and that’s nothing compared to others!
But, last week, I turned 36, and according to some, I’ve already overstayed my welcome in fandom by at least a decade. I guess I’m supposed to put all my comics and collectibles on eBay, swap out my fanfiction with whatever the fuck a beach read is, and spend the rest of my life cloistered in my house where I won’t offend society. (I mean, I’m kind of a hermit, but that’s not why.)
And let me be clear here: by some, I mean some. While there is indeed a frightening trend here on Tumblr, in which some young people have embraced bizarrely conservative views about women and sexuality, with the Trumpian rhetoric to match, I think the problem is bigger than that. I recently talked about the pressure I felt to abandon fandom when I was 25 when Tumblr was still brand new, and nothing like it is today. It’s clear there were (and are) more societal forces at work than just a toxic sub-culture on a struggling platform.
So, this post isn’t about the vast majority of young people in fandom, nor am I here to yell “get off my fandom, you pesky kids!” when no one ever said that to 14-year-old me. In fact, this post is as much for fangirls as it is for fanwomen because you deserve to know that getting older doesn’t mean giving up the things you love. But you don’t deserve to tell others to conform just because you’re uncomfortable that they exist. There are already enough toxic fanboys trying to keep women out of geek culture, so don’t help them hold the gates closed from the outside.
And if you are older, and already let that shit drive you out of taking a more active part in fandom, I’ve been there, and I get it. But you can still come back; not just on your private Tumblr, or your secret AO3 account, but for real and any time. One of the most freeing choices I’ve made is to stop pretending I think all of this is stupid. The world needs more quirky, eccentric women, anyways.
Sorry this one is so long, but apparently I have FEELINGS this month — especially after the Bog of Eternal Stench I had to trot through while researching this one — and there are a lot of people who’ve articulated them better than I did here (see the following meta recs). I promise we’ll move on next week! As always, let the authors know you appreciated their work by engaging however you can. And if you ever feel alienated on this site, please feel welcome to talk to me! 💛
Fandom – Ageism
Adults in Fandom by @littlesystems, […] There are a lot of different factors at play with the current fandom purity thing. It’s primarily being driven by minors, which is why I’ve used that as a stand-in, but there are older people who are obsessed with this and younger people who aren’t. Nuance! Exciting stuff. I think the two biggest drivers here are a genuine but misguided desire to make fandom a better place, paired with plain ol’ run-of-the-mill sexism. I’m not the first person to say this and I know others have said it better, but here are my two cents.
Age Appropriate Activities by @telesilla,So this post, another in a long series of “find a bridge club you embarrassing old ladies” posts, came around. And I adulted hard all day and it just really pissed me off and caught me at a bad time.
Ageism in Fandom by @badtech-reblogs, Seeing yet another post about ageism in fandom and I’m trying to do some root cause analysis. That ageism in fandom is tied up with misogyny is a given. There is almost no age too young to start ridiculing a woman for her hobbies and interests, and even young girls are expected to have a maturity and patience beyond their years. The misogyny is coming in from the larger world outside of fandom like how misogyny, ableism, anti-blackness etc. seeps into all subcultures.
Ageism in Fandom: Too Old to Fangirl? by @ravenmorganleigh,@vulgarweed, et al. Most Fandoms are comprised mostly of women, young and old. It’s interesting to me when Young Women– who are the most likely to champion women’s rights can turn around and show their youth-bias when it comes to Older Women in Fandom.
Fandom culture wouldn’t be where it is now if it wasn’t for Old Fandom by @thepalmtoptiger, I almost forgot that ageism in fandom is a thing. Apparently once you hit 25/30 years old you’re supposed to stop having interests in things. People need to freshen up on their fandom history and realize that fandom now wouldn’t be what it is if it wasn’t for older fans.
Getting older doesn’t actually feel like anything by @catchmewhispering, The hilarious thing about growing up, that all the ageist people here are gonna very harshly realise, is getting older doesn’t actually feel like anything. You don’t “turn into” an adult, it’s just another year that passes and, sure, it might become easier to make decisions or figure out how to fix a sticky situation but overall, you don’t suddenly Enter Adult World and never have a goofy thought or a messy moment ever again.
The idea that you will someday be ‘too old’ for the stuff you find fun by @freedom-of-fanfic, […] The idea that you will someday be ‘too old’ for the stuff you find fun now is a long-standing cultural message that I’m sure many anti-shippers – many adolescents of all stripes – have absorbed. that message caused adolescent me to think I would outgrow fandom, and I don’t think that message has particularly changed.
If other people in fandom are older than you, by definition, they have been your age by@codenamecesare,[…] If other people in fandom are older than you, by definition, they have been your age. When fans write about younger characters, we’re not peering through a keyhole at young people now and creeping on them. We are drawing on our own experiences, thoughts, feelings and memories of what it was like when we were that age.
I’m old as balls by @warlordenfilade, […] Just realize that with 30+ year old franchises there will be 30+ year old people who grew up with the franchise and still love it. Tumblr may be a relatively recent platform but fandom as an institution is waaaay older than I am and the Transformers fandom in particular has fans in their 40s and 50s whom I am personally acquainted with, fans who have adapted from photocopy fanzines and snail mail mailing lists to bulletin boards, newsgroups, forums, and, yeah, tumblr, in their many years of fandom.
I wish we’d stop telling each other – and ourselves – that there’s a point at which we’re too old for fandom by @vantasticmess, I spent every year from 14 to 25 telling myself that eventually I’d grow out of fandom: I would get too old to cosplay and I would write my own original stories instead of ‘just’ fanfiction. After all, adults don’t write fanfic and adults don’t make costumes for themselves. Adults get married and have kids and make costumes for their kids and write real stories and get published.
“like, i’m not saying that adults don’t have a place in fandom.” by @porcupine-girl, @melifair, et al. […] Fandom is vast and encompasses a multitude of interests and age groups. We all fandom responsibly, and those who abuse that at the expense of someone vulnerable or impressionable are not tolerated. This does not mean that anyone specific group of fandom should be limited. Nor does it mean that the only entertainment media created ever should be accessible to all viewing audiences. Young fandom will grow to understand this, not only in fandom but in life.
“Lmao 30-year-old women don’t belong in fandoms. Go knit or have kids or something.” by @rainbowloliofjustice, @the-salt, et al. […] It’s the fact I don’t get what these people think happens when you turn 18 it’s not like the second you turn 18 you just immediately lose interest in everything you were interested in at 17 and from then on only like strictly ‘adult™’ things. A lot of people who were in fandoms as teenagers stay in fandoms as adulthood. Fandoms aren’t minor-only spaces and never have been and there’s literally nothing wrong with adults in fandom environments.
Older fans are crucial to the survival of fandoms by @muchymozzarella, […] Not ONLY because they’re literally the ones keeping fandom afloat (AO3 wasn’t created or maintained by kids, let’s just say), but because older fans generally don’t attack or bully or fuck up a fandom by being aggressive or volatile or overzealous, destroying any enjoyment of a medium.
PSA by @bugsieplusone, I’ve been sitting on this post for a while because it probably reveals more about me on a platform that I’d rather not reveal but here goes. I’d like to talk about fandom and ageism. If you are older, you are: Allowed to like things, Allowed to create fan works, Allowed to discuss things with other like minded fans, Allowed to participate.
Reblog if Older Fans Are Welcome In Fandom by @cameoamalthea, For many fandom is a life long passion that starts young, but being a geek isn’t something you have to grow out of and put away. I didn’t start cosplaying until my 20s (I couldn’t have, and probably won’t be financially secure enough to do all the things I want until my 30s).
you are never too old for fandom by @hils79, […] You are never too old for fandom and if you think that’s true I pity you when you reach whatever arbitrary age you think is the cutoff point.
You are reinforcing a stereotype by @asocialjusticeleague, @olderthannetfic, et al; […] Whenever you question a woman’s right to this space because of her age or parental status, you are reinforcing a stereotype that has effects that reach beyond that one situation. The expectation, for example, that 40 year old men be catered to when writing comics, but that characters of interest to 40 year old women are obsolete or unprofitable.
I know that a lot of TinCan shippers hope for a fix-it for the very sad conversation Tin and Can had, and even though I am also sad and disappointed in how their storyline was handled at the end, I won’t write a ficlet about Can changing his mind so soon.
The main reasons for me are that Can has the right to say no. Whatever his reasons are, it’s his decision to make and every reason is a valid one.
Tin also has the right to react to the rejection in the way he did. He is allowed to not wanting to be just friends and his reaction to walk away is completely understandable.
My headcanon for them to be together at some point after this scene are heavy with angst, because Tin will not trust Can so easily after being rejected.. He will avoid him for a long time and Can may be stubborn but the moment Can accepts his own feelings Tin will be the one to wanting just being friends, whatever his feelings for Can are at that moment, because the walls are up again.
Yes, we are talking about a fictional couple and fictional characters but the way Tin is potrayed makes it impossible for me to make up a scenario where he takes Can back in his life easily.
So my fics are going to be either AU’s, ignoring ep14 or with ep14 as canon but way in the future.
Hey @florbexter, I completely understand where you’re coming from, and I do agree with you: there can be no quick-fix to where the canon storyline has left Can and Tin.
When, and if, you choose to write Tin and Can getting together as boyfriends, I’ll be happy to read whichever version you go for, whether it’s AU, or Can slowly coming to grips with and finally accepting his feelings, and then working his damnedest to earn Tin’s trust again, and Tin… well, I don’t know how Tin would let Can in again after he broke his heart and his trust, but if you do write it, I’d also love to read that.
And thank you for answering my ask! 💕
I think @weilongfu is planning to write a fix-it fic? So look out for his fanfiction! And thank you for being such a lovely reader ❤
My plans for fix it are also probably going to ignore ep 14 at the moment. Especially the fic I’m planning based on EXO songs.
BUT if I were to write a happier ending based on Ep 14, I agree with florbexter that there is no easy solution. Both of them are allowed to feel the way they feel. Can is allowed to be frightened and Tin is allowed to be upset. There is no easy ending, but we can always argue that they could have at least been put on the path to resolution before the ending of the season. And that’s more than enough.
@weilongfu “There is no easy ending, but we can always argue that they could have at least been put on the path to resolution before the ending of the season.” Exactly! They could have shown Can acknowledging his feelings for what they really are, at least to himself. And he could be shown working on his fears (with some guidance from someone like Type). Anyway…