roxilalonde:

like! people always reference pride & prejudice as the archetypal “normal girl falls for mysterious brooding antihero” story but they overlook the part where lizzy drags darcy so fucking hard he leaves town and then apologizes for talking to her the next time they meet even though they’re at his literal house

knitmeapony:

wrenb77:

sleephawhoneedsit:

rapid-artwork:

Movie Pitch

A strict all girls boarding school is across a river from a strict all boys boarding school.

Boys and girls are forbidden from fraternizing, but they find sneaky ways to form friendships and even date. I assume there is heavily monitored internet and phones are for emergencies only so they have to resort to more unconventional methods of communication. (Messages in bottles, a system of mirrors, writing on chalkboards and putting them in the windows ect.ect.)

Until one day a shy boy at the boys boarding school tells his best friend (and the leader of a resident well meaning boys gang) that he actually feels more like a girl.

The gang leader contacts the leader of a girl gang across the river and they begin to plan an overly elobrate heist to smuggle the shy trans girl across the river in exchange for a chill tomboy and the two will assume each other’s lives until they graduate.

Hijinks ensue as they pull a ‘Great-Esacpe’ style mission to avoid detection from the overly strict headmasters and an overly passionate team of campus security guards.

Friendships are tested, there is lots of home-alone style logic to outsmart the adults, and there is romantic tension between the leaders of the gangs as they put aside their differences to help their two friends find a place to be themselves. It is light-hearted in tone but is also over the top and everyone plays it way too serious to the point of comedy. The two kids swapping places have classic “parent trap” style hijinks pretending to be the other person and avoid detection.

Think “kids next door” + “recess” but shot like a heist movie.

Add a funny character actor as a dopey but well meaning janitor and you got a stew going.

As a parent of two young impressionable children I 100% would take them to see this movie.

I would take my kids to this in a heartbeat!

Add in the idea that you never see the headmistress of the girls school or the headmaster of the boys school until the very end. Sure you see teachers and administrators and even the vice principal or whatever but you never see the person actually in charge of each school.

Then in a during the credits / post credits scene as the kids are celebrating cut back to the headmistress and headmaster watching the entire thing over security cameras.

One of them hands the other a $20 bill, clearly paying off a bet.

“How long do you think this sort of thing has been going on?” asks the headmistress, who is played by a trans actress.

“How many years ago were we in school?” asks the headmaster, who is played by a trans actor.

“Should we tell them what we know?”

“No, no. Let them enjoy it.”

A while ago I had an idea for a fic I wanted to write. I asked on Tumblr if anyone would be interested in the idea and if I should write it. I got a big response of very excited yes from a lot of people so I set out to write it. It’s a big story and it’s taken a lot of planning and time from me. I would post updates and everyone was super excited. I have finally started posting and the response is almost nothing now. I don’t understand and now I don’t really want to write it. What do I do?

sinistercinnamon:

bettsfic:

ao3commentoftheday:

I think the thing is—especially with long fics—people want to see it build a little before they jump on the bandwagon. They want to see the rise of the story and also see that it will be updated regularly.

Once they see that stuff happening, readers will get on board. Some of my long fics honestly didn’t get much in the way of feedback until ten or more chapters in.

As a reader, I can say that I’ve gotten really excited about fics before that sort of came to nothing when the authors stopped posting fairly early on. It’s an emotional investment with no payoff and it kinda hurts. So I, and I think a lot of readers, tend to be more cautious starting out reading long fics.

It’s really up to you if you can tough out that starting-up phase, but if you do, I feel certain that you’ll start to get more and more response as you go on. It’s just getting past that initial trust-barrier with readers. They want to get excited about your fic, but they’ve been burned so many times before. 

If you write it, they will come. Keep writing, anon. 

–Mod M

def agree! with the caveat that people express interest because it’s easy – a like, a reblog, an ask – but reading is a commitment, so you’ll only ever get a small portion of the people who express interest actually follow through. this is why i’ve stopped asking if people will be interested in xyz because the interest received never matches the interest shown.

that said, here are some ways to build an audience with a WIP:

  • write as much of the fic as you can before you start posting. like get to the point where you are ready to burst if you don’t start posting.
  • keep a consistent posting schedule that is beyond manageable for you and won’t stress you out.
  • get a beta; make sure your writing is up to snuff.
  • make a fic playlist and rebloggable aesthetic/photoset.
  • play ask games, engage your readers.
  • reply to your comments so your readers know you appreciate their engagement, which in turn encourages more engagement.
  • keep in mind that most readers want to wait until a fic is finished and then binge it, so when you’re done posting, you’ll get a surge of traffic from the people who are waiting for it to be finished. be prepared for that surge, make sure at the end of the fic you encourage your readers to reblog your fic post, so more people will read it. 

i get that the point of writing a WIP is to feel like you’re part of something, but it takes a long time to build that trust with readers. the more engaged your readers are, the more abandoned WIPs tend to hurt. once your audience trusts that you’re a writer who follows through, who posts consistently (not necessarily quickly), and who appreciates engagement and feedback, then you’ll have a steady and dedicated audience. 

it really, really takes some work not only to build an audience in fandom but assure that audience you respect and appreciate their time and attention, as well as ensure that you are an author who is worth that time and attention. fic is free and near-infinite; sometimes it takes a lot to stand out. 

Yes to all the above. As a reader, I’ve been burned by longfics in the past, where I’ve started reading, but the author abandoned it before the story really went anywhere, or it started with a really cool premise but the author ditched it & took the story in a different direction that I found way less interesting (obviously it’s the writer’s prerogative here, but I’d be lying if I said I’d never been disappointed in how a story has gone). It can be hard to judge in the first few chapters how things are gonna go & whether it’s a story you’re into, & people like to wait & see.

I’m actually in this postion at the moment, posting a long & much-stressed-over fic. The first few chapters got relatively few comments, & those were mostly ‘Seems cool – looking forward to more!’ cautious responses (not slamming those people though – just knowing anyone was reading & enjoying it was awesome enough & I squeed over every one!). But after the first few chapters, as I introduced more characters & revealed more of the story, I started getting more comments, with people discussing aspects of the story itself, like character portrayals, lines they liked, & speculation on where things might go next based on what had happened so far.

Keep going, Anon! Your readers will appreciate it & tell you so.